Trekking Mt. Pinatubo: the Beautiful Disaster

My brother gave me an idea to make some documentations of all my escaping-Metro-Manila trips and adventures. I am not really into blogging but I guess my experience to trek Mt. Pinatubo deserves my first ever travel blog 🙂

February 7, 2016 — My office friend and I woke up as early as 12:00 in the morning to prepare ourselves and pack our things. We left Metro Manila with the other group of hikers past 2:00 in the morning. It’s a non-hassle drive because we didn’t suffer any traffic jam since it is very early in a Sunday morning. We have our stop-over along NLEX to buy our packed lunch if we want. After two and a half hours from Metro Manila, we arrived at the Tourism Office, at the same time, the jump-off point at Brgy. Sta. Juliana, Capas, Tarlac. After assigning our groups for the 4×4 ride to get us close to the mountain, we signed our waiver forms.

DSC_1868
This is where each of the hikers will sign their waiver forms.

Around 6:00 in the morning, we rode our 4×4 jeepney. It’s bit of a thrilling ride. Tagtag buong katawan mo, grabe. But I had so much fun! 🙂 You can feel like you’re on a roller coaster ride. Each 4×4 land cruiser should only accommodate five people. That is why my friend and I got separated during the first fifteen-minute ride due to the number and groupings of guests, and for the sake of check-off point. But I still managed to join her group on the first stop-over of cruisers as advised by Ms. Hydee, out travel organizer. The 4×4 ride took us longer than an hour and the actual trekking begins.

The trek to Mt. Pinatubo will take you almost 2-3 hours before reaching the Crater Lake. You will experience a little river crossing, a lot of sandy and rocky terrains during the trek. It’s not a hard trail, actually. According to http://www.pinoymountaineer.com, I’ve read that its trail difficulty is only 2/9. First timers can flawlessly handle the trail. And also, assigned tour guiders are always there to help you in case you need assistance.

DSC_19061
With our tour guide, Kuya Nog. He is so nice and kind, he is always ready to assist us especially if we are about to cross a river. 🙂

 

DSC_18721

DSC_18921

DSC_18831
During the trek, you will meet some Aetas who are so adorable and friendly. They are willing to grin to the camera with their visitors 🙂

Upon reaching the Crate Lake, my legs felt like jelly aces after climbing almost a hundred of rocky and steep stairs, but still, I still felt awesome and amazed!

DSC_19161

image-55ceefa58373e2c4f84ad839ac3b89c74f22f7e87f7bd698e0b52728cdfe702e-V
(C) Friend

DSC_19501I recommend you to bring with you your tent, as much as possible. Because that is what my friend and I didn’t bother to do. Good thing we met a group of friends during the trek and they adopted us. It’s one of the cool things you will experience in travelling. You got to meet other people who have a heart for travel and befriend with them.

DSC_19441
With the new people we’ve met. :”)

DSC_19471Expect a late lunch during this day hike. We ate our lunch past 2:00 in the afternoon upon reaching the town proper.

Finally, I can check out one of the bullets in my bucket list which is “to trek Mt. Pinatubo”. It is so overwhelming! I can agree with the KathNiel movie entitled “A Crazy Beautiful You”, it is indeed a BEAUTIFUL DISASTER. 🙂

DSC_19231
Such a wonderful creation of God, no doubt! ❤

Here are our other pictures:

DSC_18941
There is no other way but UP!
DSC_18981
My friend having a me-time in the trail.
DSC_19151
So to what phasing do you think you belong? ;))
image-3cde28abec678b5858c792319c84f88604b7e59372f85f4ca28327c9ad2c74d0-V
A glimpse of the hikers / campers at the Mt. Pinatubo Crater Lake. (C) Friend
DSC_19561
Pia Wurtzbach inspired photo. Hi James Franco! Chos.
image-0f3feed8a97a4a0d3eb720e12081a1789f61e28361df713d78524ed2bb34627a-V
(C) Friend
image-aa5f696b8f3e9d40d76aded26de2c6fb71c65edd62e97cbbc82f012ee0c653c8-V
The more talikod, the more sushal. 😀 Hahaha! (C) Friend

I have no regrets to trust Ms. Hydee for assisting us with this trip. You can contact her at (+63) 9178645462 or search their Facebook page: Mt. Pinatubo Adventure Phils.

Go and see for yourself the Majestic Crater of Mt. Pinatubo. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

